Alter The Press!


Album Review: Mind Museum - Rat Race

Despite only being formed in late 2010, new comers Mind Museum have already been compared to the likes of Biffy Clyro, Muse and 30 Seconds to Mars. With the release of their debut EP 'Rat Race,' these lads have already given themselves a lot to live up to.

Kicking off with title track 'Rat Race' you can immediately hear the post-punk influences. A good strong chorus will have people singing along in no time, but unfortunately the vocals have a few too many unnecessary effects on them for my liking. 'Everything Eventually' is far more energetic and is reminiscent of early Lostprophets. The guitar could almost be considered frantic, but it works well with the slightly edgier sound.

'The Secret of Happiness' isn't the strongest song on the EP, which is a shame because it features the best vocal performance and really showcases Justin Percival's talent. This track is more pop-orientated, which isn't a bad thing, but it's just not a patch on the others featured on this EP.

The trio have really hit a winning formula with 'Sealing the Cracks'. The vocals are powerful and borderline on screams in the chorus, which really adds some bite to this song without being too over the top. Here Mind Museum have managed to create a uniqueness to their sound which will set them apart from any other alt-rockers at the moment.

Mind Museum have created an EP far beyond the expectations of a band that haven't even been together a year yet, and it's a must-have for any alt-rock fan. If they carry on at this rate, 2011 could be a big year for them indeed.


'Rat Race' by Mind Museum is out now.

Official Website

Mind Museum on MySpace, Facebook and Twitter.

Blaise Ruston

Alter The Press!