Alter The Press!


Alter The Press! Presents: The Honesty

Having played drums in The Bigger Lights and toured with the likes of The Maine and All Time Low, Mikey Davis' departure from the band led to formation of The Honesty, a pop-rock group based in Palm Springs, CA. With a sound that sees the band taking a fresh approach to female-fronted pop-rock, their style has been winning fans over at Purevolume, where the bands 'The Things We'll Never Know' EP topped the charts.

Since the release of the EP, The Honesty have expanded to a five-piece and have plans to record a new EP and play live shows later this year.

For Fans Of: Anberlin, Paramore, There For Tomorrow and The Dangerous Summer.

Alter The Press: Why should Alter The Press! readers check you out?
The Honesty: If you're looking for a fresh, new, powerful, energetic female fronted Pop-rock band, with a sound different from bands like Paramore, Hey Monday, and VersaEmerge, then we suggest you give us a listen. Our music is honest, true, and from the heart. We surely hope you enjoy it.

ATP: What's the story behind the band?
TH: the idea of The Honesty started while I (Mikey Davis) was still playing drums for my last band The Bigger Lights. Once I realized the band was no longer working out for me, I was given the opportunity to leave and begin fresh, with hopes of bigger better things. I wrote the music for our debut EP the following months, then posted them on the internet in search of a singer.

Along with the search, I started working for some my good friends in Sparks The Rescue, and went out on a tour with them where I met Tasha Gilbreath in Southern California. We talked a bunch in the following months, went over the songs, and the idea of working together, and we decided it would be best to become a team. We later headed into the studio to record our debut EP 'The Things We'll Never Know' with Joel Piper of Confide (Tragic Hero Records), which was released in June of 2010.

After the release of our EP, we finalized our line-up with guitarist Aaron Aparicio, guitarist Jeff Harber (ex-A Thorn For Every Heart), and bassist Bryce Hoffman. Since then we've been writing for an upcoming EP which we'll be recording early January 2011.

ATP: Single highlight as a band so far?
TH: Our debut EP 'The Things We'll Never Know' was recently the #1 album on Purevolume. Our song 'Intentions' featuring Joel Piper was also the #1 song.

ATP: What are your plans for the 12 months?
TH: We're starting off the New Year recording a new EP, and then we plan on hitting the road hard come March. We're going to start off in the LA and surrounding California areas, then branch out into touring nationally later in the Spring so please come out to a show!

'The Things We'll Never Know' by The Honesty is available now through iTunes and Big Cartel.
'Identity' by The Honesty is available now on iTunes.

The Honesty on Purevolume, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr and MySpace.

Alter The Press!